Restarting or rebooting a computer laptop has nothing to do with deleting data that is saved on the hard drive. Nevertheless, some files may get deleted with a simple reboot. Here’s what you need to know.
- Resetting a laptop: Deletes everything to the factory settings.
- Restarting a laptop: Simple boot as turning on/off a laptop it does not delete any data.
If you have just restarted your laptop, worry that your data is safe. But that’s not the case if you have reset your laptop to factory settings.
Restarting HP laptops, Dell laptops, PCs, and MacBooks, should do nothing such as deleting data. If your data has been deleted, you should perform these fixes that will help recover your data.
In some cases, restarting a laptop can improve performance. This improvement resulted from programs that were running in the background, now getting turned off and reducing the load on the RAM. Restarting can also delete hidden files that were running in the background.
It’s not Harmful
The files are not a user uses but rather those that one operating system like windows uses. Also known as Temp files get deleted when rebooting. Resulting in increased performance, as a running laptop is continuously building up these files and taking up extra space. Restarts delete these unnecessary files in general.
It does not delete personal data
Restarting a laptop won’t delete anything from hard drives, all the data including photos, videos, apps, and documents, will be there once the device is powered on. However, restarting will wipe out unnecessary files that were stored in the RAM, also known as cache files.
What to know?
Browser tabs – restarting a laptop or PC will close your browser’s open tabs. But it’s not always the case, depending on which browser you use. Some browsers use cache files like the Google Chrome browser which will restore all the open tabs after boot up.
The data inside the open tabs will be deleted if not unsaved. For instance, unsaved files in an online text editor like google docs, google Sheets, will be restored by restarting.
Therefore, always save the data inside a browser tab before rebooting your laptop.
Unsaved Game progress– When you play an offline game with a save state feature. Don’t restart your laptop without saving the game because if you don’t. After booting up, you will lose your game progress and have to continue from the last save.
Unsaved Documents or files- When working on documents using tools like Microsoft word, photoshop, after effects, etc. Make sure to always use the “save the file feature” to prevent your file from getting restored when your laptop accidentally boots up. Because without saving the file, your progress will be deleted and there is no way to recover your efforts.
Unnecessary cache files– Restarting a laptop or pc will only delete unnecessary cache files that are stuck in the RAM memory. Every time an action is performed, unnecessary cache files are produced. In addition, some corrupt files tend to accumulate in the RAM memory due to programs that borrow RAM when they start but do not return it when they close. Alternatively, they present errors in properly closing the program.
Time– Restarting a laptop does not delete the time you have set. However, this can happen if your laptop is experiencing errors. If you are experiencing this, you must fix those errors in order to prevent them from happening again.